www.incontinentsupport.org

Support for dealing with incontinence
It is currently Sun Apr 28, 2024 3:45 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: Diapers and Taxes
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 11:21 am 

I have been wearing diapers for more than 20 years, but recently began wonderig if I can deduct the cost as a medical expense on my taxes. Any thoughts?

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 12:34 pm 

I think you'd have to check with your accountant to know better, but usually if you rack up a certain (high) dollar amount of medical related expenses, you can take a medical deduction. The amount is pretty high and I've never reached the limit to get the deduction.

There's also the 125 Cafeteria Plan thing if your company offers it. With this program you can purchase medical supplies at Pre Tax dollars. Diapers, diaper rash ointments and such are included in the list. There are lots of other things included - contact solution, OTC and Prescription meds. I found a link that lists out all of the items covered. http://www.mycafeteriaplan.com/sample_expenses.htm

If you have a lot of expenses in supplies, this could possibly a decent benefit.

Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jul 13, 2009 5:55 pm 

Ray:
Thanks! I used to do just what you suggested, but my current employer does not offer such a plan.

Post subject: Taxes
PostPosted: Tue Jul 14, 2009 10:40 am 

Hi--

My tax accountant indicated that I could only deduct diaper expense if the diapers were prescribed by my doctor, but not covered by my insurance (I'm in the USA). So, I asked my Urologist to prescribe my diapers, and I'm deducting the expense of one case per month of Molicare Super-Plus from my taxes (I use cloth at home/night).

Worth a thought!

Gimwet

Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jul 16, 2009 9:42 am 

That's what I thought. I will call my doctor and ask for a prescription.
Thanks!

Post subject: Re: Diapers and Taxes
PostPosted: Fri Jul 31, 2009 11:50 am 

Rick123 wrote: