www.incontinentsupport.org

Support for dealing with incontinence
It is currently Sat Apr 27, 2024 3:13 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

PostPosted: Mon Mar 14, 2022 3:39 pm 

Hi all,
This is my first post. I just recently became incontinent, about one and a half months ago. It seems I have developed urge incontinence and have what seems to me as large, fast voids sometimes (no flow issues here), necessitating the wearing of diapers, not just pads or pull-ups. I'm glad I found this community. I'm not much of a talker but I hope to contribute sometimes and I'm sure I will have questions as I navigate the sea of available treatments and/or available protection options.

I do have easy access to restrooms (even a private one) where I work, fortunately. But that doesn't mean I can always drop everything I'm doing and just jet off to the restroom. I work in IT so have frequent contact with co-workers both on the phone and in person. If I'm in a webex meeting I may have to wait for a bit or otherwise awkwardly excuse myself at a moments notice, sometimes interrupting to do it. So far this has happened a few times now, but I was able to hold on mostly and only pee a little. On other occasions I have been face to face with a coworker when it happened. One time was while talking to a chatty lady co-worker. My bladder suddenly sent the urgent signal and I knew I didn't have long. I felt like she could probably see the frantic look on my face (like how could she miss it?) but she kept talking. When I started to slowly lose control and start dribbling about 30 seconds later I interrupted her and told her I needed to go to the restroom. She was polite and quickly ended the superfluous conversation. Another time was talking to a male co-worker and fortunately the conversation ended right after I got the urge.